FAMILY

Family.  It’s the best gift I’ve ever gotten.  A loving husband and three beautiful children.  I wouldn’t be who I am today without them.  They are always there – on good days and bad. Family.  Shared memories.  Love.  Joy.  Happiness.  Tears.  Sadness.  Hurt.  Pain.  Any emotion is possible.

My best family day ever?  Maybe, like the picture above, it was the day we spent at the beach in Cape Cod searching for shells and enjoying the waves. Or maybe it was the year we were snowed in on Christmas day and we stayed home and played with the kids and their new toys feeling like kids ourselves.  Or even better yet was the day we took the kids to Disney World for the first time and we saw their faces light up with excitement. The truth is I have so many wonderful family memories that it’s impossible to pick just one.  I wonder which memories my children will be telling their children someday.

I tell my children stories all the time about what my family was like when I was growing up.  I was one of four kids – the youngest by nine years.  That wasn’t always the easiest position to be in, but most of the time it was pretty great.  However one of my tough days was  when I was 5 years old and my mom took me shopping to get some new boots.  I picked these red boots that you pulled over your sneakers.  I was happy that I couldn’t wait to go home and show my brothers and sister.  Only when I walked in, as proud as punch, to my horror they laughed.  And it wasn’t just a chuckle either.  It was a roll on the floor laugh with tears streaming down their faces and everything.  Anyway, I immediately became ashamed of my boots and made my mom take me back to the store to return them.  Family.

I’m sure I could write a thousand words on Family.  But today that’s enough.

By marysuehobika

One comment on “FAMILY

  1. How amazing and true. You are such an inspiration …. and I am definitely the luckiest husband and father in the world.

    All my love,
    Tom

Leave a Reply

