Books!

My journal

How-to-be-a-writer Books

Books!  I love books!  The reason I didn’t blog yesterday is because I was to busy reading to do any writing of my own.  I finished my book – so now I have time to write.

The top photo is of a journal that I received.  At first I didn’t want to write in it because I thought it was too special.  I was worried about ruining it.  Isn’t that ridiculous?  How could I ruin it by writing in it?  I mean isn’t that the whole point of owning a journal?  Maybe something I write will lead to great things.  Who knows?

The second photo is of a couple of books on how to be a better writer.  My goal someday is to be a published author.  On days when I don’t feel like writing, I read books on how to be a better writer.  It is inspiring to read other people’s advice and discover that I am doing some things right.  I guess only time will tell.  The one piece of advice I read everywhere is to write, write, write, and read, read, read, which I do follow.

Just for fun – I’lll pick an exercise out of “The Pocket Muse” by Monica Wood.  Let’s see, randomly I open to page – wait there are no page numbers – but it says to write something with the following list of words:  vale, simper, fling, cranberry, kiosk, winsome, prey, and quacky. Wow, I think this is going to be harder than I thought.  But here goes…

I’ve been watching Robert all summer, but I hadn’t yet mustered the courage to actually talk to him.  I saw him at least once a week at the public farm market where his family owned and operated a kiosk selling goods from their farm located in the lush vale outside of town.  My family didn’t own a farm, but rather a small apartment in the center of town, so on Saturday mornings we would come to scout for the freshest foods and the best deals.  I wanted desperately to talk to him, but my mom was allergic to cranberries and all of their products had cranberries in them, leaving me without a reason to approach the kiosk.  Instead I watched him from a safe distance as countless girls flung themselves at him, falling prey to his winsome smile.  He didn’t seem to encourage them, but they always walked away with a simper on their faces.  I decided I didn’t want to stand around and stare anymore so I began to walk away when I noticed a booth I hadn’t seen before.  It advertised free palm readings by Gypsy Matilda, a quick glance over my shoulder reminded me that I had nothing too lose, so I approached the quacky fortuneteller.  She immediately sensed my mistrust and asked me why I had come if I didn’t believe.  I told I figured I had nothing to lose either.  She asked for my hand and then began to smile.  She said that my future was close by and that I would have a long happy life.  I thanked her politely and then walked out with my head down.  Her ambiguous comment meant nothing to me.  Only two seconds later I thought maybe there was more to her prediction than I originally had given her credit for, because a moment later I ran smack into Robert,  And the rest is history…

Okay, so I did it.  The only thing I had to do was change fling to flung because I wrote in past tense.  You can try the same exercise as me and see what story you can come up with, or you can pull a different one out of the book because it is chock full of fun exercises to get you thinking.

Hey, on a fun note – these two photographs ended up being worth 650 words.

By marysuehobika

Leave a Reply

