Image

My top 5 summer reads

I spent a lot of time this summer reading books, most of which were really fabulous. I wanted to share the books that I loved the most on my blog. Since I am a YA Romance author, I read mostly books that fell into that genre. The books below are not listed in preferential order – I loved them all.

e

Easy by Tammara Webber

I cannot say enough about this book. I totally loved it! I didn’t want it to end. I fell in love with the characters – especially Lucas. The author did such a good job describing him that I could totally picture him in my mind. I loved his little quirks, like biting on his lip ring.

There was also a clear message for all girls, that it’s not their fault, and it can’t be stated enough. Thank you to to Tammara Webber for bringing this important topic to the forefront through a cleverly crafted story.

Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park

I loved this book because it was unusual, just like the main characters. This is a book that will stay with me for a long time and I can’t say that about every book I read. There are books out there that while I might love them when I read them, they are quickly forgotten. This isn’t one of those.

I don’t like to give reviews that contain spoilers, because no one loves a surprise more than me, so I’ll do my best not too give much away. Sometimes I don’t even like to read the blurbs on the back cover, I like to be surprised.

One of the main characters, Matt, is a major nerd and loves to explain things. He made me laugh because he reminded me a little of my husband, whom I love very much. Matt is deep and very intellectual. He is my kind of guy. Julie has a big heart and is not your typical college freshman. Celeste, Matt’s eccentric 13 year old sister, is not like most girls her age. The book centers around these relationships and it keeps you guessing as to what secrets this family guards.

A lot of thought and time went into this novel. It’s a must read, especially if you’re looking for something a little different.

What a Boy Wants – by Nyrae Dawn

This book was from the boy’s POV, which I enjoyed because few YA Romances are. I found it refreshing. The author did a remarkable job capturing his voice – he spoke just like a real teenage boy would.

Freeing Carter – by Nyrae Dawn

Once again the author does an amazing job writing from the boys POV. Carter is a very likable character, I rooted for him the whole way. Kira reminded me a little of the main character in “Stargirl” by Jerry Spinnelli. She is different from all the other girls and she isn’t afraid to do her own thing. She is kind, caring, and a true friend. She is an admirable character. I like to search for “Stargirls” among all the real teens I meet.

I would highly recommend this book. Nyrae Dawn does it again.

Existence – by Abbi Glines

What would summer be without having read at least one Paranormal Romance? This is the one I chose. The book got me thinking about souls and what happens to them after we die. The author puts a unique spin on Death, and I have to admit I couldn’t help falling for him too. I’ve read the next book in the series and the novella. I’m just waiting for the final book, which comes out later this month.

What was your favorite book that you read this summer?

By marysuehobika

6 comments on “My top 5 summer reads

  1. I enjoyed Flat Out Love and Easy immensely! I also enjoyed The Opportunist by Tarryn Fisher and Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. Oh, and Thoughtless by SC Stephens!

  2. I read Easy a while back. What a great addition to the NA genre. And Lucas *sigh* what can I say. Swoonworthy. I have What A Boy Wants and look forward to reading it. Abbi Gline’s books are great but haven’t read this series. Wow, thanks for the great reviews. 🙂

  3. These all sound wonderful! Guess I have more to add to my TBR pile. lol My best read this summer was probably SANCTUM by Sarah Fine, to be released next month. (I hopped over from YAlitchat’s Blogger Nation. Nice to meet you.)

Leave a Reply

