First Friday – Author Interview with Kelly Mooney

The first Friday of every month I want to highlight an Indie Author. This week I am happy to host Kelly Mooney. She has three books out and is currently working on a fourth. Congratulations, Kelly.


1 – Tell us a little about the books you’ve released so far…

So far I have written three YA romances and am now working on a fourth. My first Down the Shore was inspired from growing up in Southern New Jersey and hitting the beach every summer. Many foreigners come to work on the boards and I always wondered what would happen if two people fell in love, but one needed to head across the pond to go home. So, I wrote about it. My second, Never Say Never, just sort of came to me. It’s about a girl named Kat who must leave the sanctuary of Savannah to move to the windy city for her senior year. And, yes, of course she falls in love. My third, Please Don’t Tell was inspired by an accident that had happened to me on a trip to the Caribbean, only instead of a handsome British boy next to me, it had been four other girls. So, I went with it.

2 – What are you currently working on?

The sequel to my last book. It is called Please Don’t Go and takes place mainly in London. I have another idea, but I can’t even begin to write about it until Sophie and Ethan’s story is finished.

3 – I know you are both published and self-published. Which do you prefer? Why?

I prefer self-published. It gives me more freedom to do what I want.

4- Who is your favorite character from your books? Why? Which book is he or she from?

I’d have to pick Ethan from Please Don’t Tell. He is a guy who has felt sorry for himself for sometime, but rekindles his old feelings for Sophie when they meet up after several years. He’s charming, witty, and a dreamy guy all girls would love to spend time with.

5 – Who is your favorite Indie author? And why?

I love Abbi Glines. I cannot say enough about her books. I devour them in a few hours and scour the internet to see if she’s written anything new.

6 – What kind of music do you listen to when you write?

Better question is what don’t I listen to. Everything from Coldplay, The Fray, The Cure to Jay-Z.

7 – What advice would you give a new writer?

Never give up. Don’t let harsh critiques of your work get you down. You can’t make everyone happy, just do the best work you can and people will read it. When I receive good reviews it makes my day. When I receive a bad one, sure it brings me down, but I don’t let them get to me. Happy Writing!

One comment on “First Friday – Author Interview with Kelly Mooney

Leave a Reply

