Interesting Author Tidbits

I enjoy trivia, especially when it’s about other authors.

1 – Did you know that S.E. Hinton started writing “The Outsiders” when she was only 15 years old? And that it was published when she was 17?

I just learned this last week and I was amazed. I didn’t write my first novel until I was in my 30s.

2 – Did you know that Louis Sachar, author of Holes and the Wayside series, was a lawyer before becoming a writer full time?

John Grisham was the only lawyer turned author, that I used to know. Now I know two. I guess most of us authors have day jobs, while we wait for our big break.

3 – Did you know that “Anna and the French Kiss,” by Sue Perkins, was a Nano novel?

I aspire to write a novel in a thirty days. Nanowrimo is coming up next month.

4 – Did you know that Amanda Hocking, a self-published author, sold more than a million copies of her books.

She is one of my inspirations. If it happened to her, I believe it can happen to me.

Do you know any interesting author trivia that you’d like to share?

6 comments on “Interesting Author Tidbits

    • That’s cool that you are a lawyer by day too. Now I know even more lawyer/authors. I was a teacher. There are probably a lot of teacher/authors out there too, especially in the children’s/YA genre.

  1. Did you know that Stephen King’s Carrie was rejected 30 times? CS Lewis received over 800 rejections before he sold anything. Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With The Wind was rejected 40 times.

    Never give up and always believe, that is my motto.

Leave a Reply

