Nanowrimo and The Turkey Trot

November is Nanowrimo and The Turkey Trot. It is time to get my typing fingers and my muscles in shape.

For those of you who don’t know, Nanowrimo stands for National Write a Novel Month. If you want to participate you can visit their website at www.nanowrimo.org The goal is to write 50,000 words in a month, which in theory equals a novel. The turkey trot is typically a race run on Thanksgiving day to help burn all the calories about to be consumed.

I participated in Nanowrimo two years ago. Since I am the type of person who likes goals, this was a positive experience for me. I made sure I sat down every day and wrote. I loved watching my word count go up. It was like signing up for the turkey trot – I had to make sure I went out every day and trained. I couldn’t just blow it off. However, 50,000 words in a month is an unrealistic goal for me. I just can’t think or type that fast. It would be like me claiming that I am going to run this year’s turkey trot at a 7 minute 30 second pace, when my PR is a 7 minute 59 second pace. As much as I would love to run that fast, I probably won’t. For me, writing and running are about the journey. I will be signing up to participate in Nanowrimo and The Turkey Trot. I like the routine and accountability that reaching for a goal provides. I just won’t get hung up on the numbers. I’ll try to do the best job I can. Whether that means I write 25,000 words or 50,000 words. Or whether I run at  a 7 minute 30 second mile pace or an 8 minute mile pace.

What about you? What are your plans for November?

3 comments on “Nanowrimo and The Turkey Trot

  1. I just signed up for Nanowrimo and this will be my first year. Like you, I like goals and am hoping this will be great motivation to write. 50,000 words in one month is an unrealistic goal for me too. However, I have an idea for a book I am itching to write. I’ve outlined and even wrote the query! I’m hoping to plot it out chapter by chapter this week. I really don’t expect to finish it in ONE month, but I sure don’t mind trying! =)

    Good luck next month!!

    I’m “Random Musings” over at Nanowrimo if you want to be look me up. =)

Leave a Reply

