The Next Big Thing Bloghop

I was tagged by the talented writer and blogger: Sara Durham

 

This is the end of the line for this Bloghop. We had many talented Muse It Up Authors participate.

Happy Halloween

1 – What is the working title of your next book?

My next book is part of a four book series, entitled Senior Year. Each book will take place during one of the seasons, highlighting two different main characters. The first book will take place in summer. I may actually hold a voting contest on my blog, asking followers to vote between a few I am considering. ( I have a difficult time deciding titles.)

Summer Heat            Senior Summer          One Complicated Summer

The other titles I am considering for the subsequent books are: Falling for You, Winter Escape, and Spring Fling.

This is all subject to change, since I am in the early planning stages. It is an ambitious project, but I love a good series and I’ve always wanted to write one of my own.

2- Where did the idea come from?

I’m not really sure. I am a character driven writer, and Carly and Gavin came to me first. I wanted to write a story about a girl who is a very talented musician, but is too shy to really let her talents shine. She reminds me of my daughter, who is passionate about singing and performing, but unlike my character, my daughter isn’t shy at all on stage.

3 – What genre does your book fall under?

YA Romance, of course!

4- Which actors would you choose to play your characters in  a movie rendition?

Maybe Selena Gomez and a young Zac Effron.

5 – What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Summer heats up when Carly attempts to break out of her shell by becoming the newest member of the band Karma. Will joining the band bring her closer to her dark and brooding friend, Gavin? Or will it drive them apart? A lot can change over the course of one summer.

Okay, so I don’t have it down to one sentence yet, but I will continue to work at it.

6 – Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I will be submitting my manuscript to Muse It Up Publishing when complete. I have thoughts and comments to share on my next post as to which method of publishing I prefer. (My answer to this question is a hint.)

7- How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
Haha. I haven’t written it yet. I am going to be writing it during Nanowrimo. I have outlined the series, and I have written “Character Bibles” for all the main characters. On November 1st, I’ll be saying, “Ready, set, GO!”

8 -What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
I can’t compare it to anything since I haven’t written it yet.

9- Who or What inspired you to write this book?

 I was inspired by all the really great books I read over the summer. I have always wanted to write a series, and I thought what better idea than to write a series about Senior Year. It is such a momentous year in every teenager’s life. So many big decisions are made.

10 – Will there be any scary parts in the book? This is a halloween post, after all. 

I don’t think there will be any scary parts, but there will be conflict. Love isn’t always easy, you know.

 
5 comments on “The Next Big Thing Bloghop

  1. Hello! I love the description (even if it’s not one sentence yet) I like Spring Fling, Summer Heat, and Falling for You for potential titles….YA romance sounds delightful, I’m usually not that into them but I’d love to read & review this one when it’s out!

Leave a Reply

