Nanowrimo and Turkey Trot Updates

Nanowrimo is almost half over and the Turkey Trot is only five days away.
I have logged many words on my computer and many miles on my legs.

Regarding Nanowrimo, I have written 25,411 words of a YA Romance novel. I can’t stress enough how good this is for me. I just hope what I’ve written so far makes sense, and that I haven’t gone off on too many tangents. I know the next couple of weeks are going to be busy, so I may not be able to keep up my current pace. I have several guests coming to celebrate my favorite holiday. I love love Thanksgiving. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. I will write as much as I can, but the reality is it might not be that much.

Snippet: Whenever she opened her mouth and notes floated out, I felt like I was high, or what I imagined getting high would feel like. Time stood still, every cell in my body awakened and began to vibrate. My eyes locked on hers and nothing could tear me away. When she stopped, I felt empty and alone. Her voice was like magic.

As far as the Turkey Trot goes, I have been training for the past several weeks. It is a 5 mile course. Last year was the first time I ran it, and I ran at a pace of 7:59. I am hoping to run at the same pace again this year. Last week I ran the course at 8:03 pace, so my goal is realistic. It will just depend on the day and how I’m feeling. I try not to think about it too much because it just makes me nervous. I have my best races when I run just for the fun of it.

Wish me luck!

3 comments on “Nanowrimo and Turkey Trot Updates

  1. It would be such fun to see you trotting like a turkey! Perhaps in one of your new books, you could have a girl that spent the night at her friend’s house and stole a Bit ‘O Honey from her candy dish (unbeknownst to the friend). Then, while being chased around the house, she stuck her tongue out at the friend with the Bit ‘O Honey right on the end of it! Wouldn’t that be hilarious? (Who comes up with this stuff?)

    • Haha. I’m pretty sure that really happened. I say that because I was there. Weaving little stories from the past into larger more complex novels often leads to a great read. If you read “Nowhere”, you’ll see what I’m talking about. BTW, do you still run? It is great to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

