I Reached My Turkey Trot Goal!

Sunday was the big race, the 5 mile Turkey Trot. I had been training for the past month. My goal was to finish in under 40 minutes. I wanted to run it as fast as I did last year, or even set a new PR (personal record). I wasn’t sure if I could do it. I thought I could, but I never like to get my hopes up. I don’t like being disappointed. Anything can happen during a race. Plus if I over think things too much, I don’t do as well.

It was a great morning for a run. No wind, sunny, and 35 degrees. My first mile was great – 7:20. My second mile was just under 15 minutes, and at that point I knew I had in in the bag. I felt great, ready to run as hard as I could. Mile 3, I was still going strong. I just ran. I didn’t think about anything. I love the high I get when running. I hit mile 4 at 30:42 seconds. All I had to do was finish the race. And the faster I went, the sooner I’d de done. Shortly there after, a mom I know passed me pushing her 8 month old baby in a jogging stroller. I felt inspired. I couldn’t keep her pace, but I kept my own steady. I pushed it as much as I could at the end, finishing with a time of 38:34 seconds. I was thrilled. I had a new PR. My overall pace was 7:43 min/mile.

I’m also looking for a PR in my word count. Last time I did NANOWRIMO I wrote around 30,000 words. To date I’ve written 26,667, so I’m almost there. Like the Turkey Trot, my money is on me setting a new PR.

How are you doing with the goals you’ve set this month?

2 comments on “I Reached My Turkey Trot Goal!

Leave a Reply

