Thanksgiving

No time for writing today or tomorrow. I’m going to be too busy cooking! Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday! I love everything about it – the cold crisp air, the delicious comfort food, family and friends. What is there not to like?

Here is my list of things to be thankful for:

family
friends
my 2 pugs
my health
stuffing
apple pie that my daughter made
my new large dining room to hold all of my guests
a new kitchen to cook and bake in
books
my computer – a gift from my husband
music
goodreads
my substitute position

The list could go on and on…

I would like to share with you a few of the recipes I am going to be making for our feast. Thanksgiving is filled with traditions and tastes passed down through the generations. This is what my Thanksgiving will look like.

Pumpkin bread – recipe from my dear friend Lisa
(makes 2 big loaves)

3 cups sugar
1 cup oil
4 eggs beaten
1 can pumpkin (I like Libby’s)

3.5 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsps salt
2 tsps baking soda

1/2 tsp cloves
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp all spice

2/3 cup water

Combine sugar, eggs, and oil. Stir in pumpkin.
Combine all dry ingredients. Stir into pumpkin mix. Add water. Mix well.
Bake @ 350 degrees for 1 hour

Enjoy!

Raspberry Jell-o Salad – Recipe from my mother-n-law (I make this in lieu of cranberry sauce)

2 3oz packages Raspberry Jell-o
2 cups boiling water
1 10oz package frozen raspberries
1 20oz can of crushed pineapple (do not drain)
2 bananas diced
1/2 pint sour cream

Dissolve jell-o in boiling water. Add raspberries, pineapple, bananas. Pour half into mold or 10 x 13 glass pan. Let set. Add layer of sour cream. Add remaining half of jell-o. Let set.

Enjoy!

I will also be making butternut squash, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, corn bake, stuffing, gravy, and TURKEY! And of course, pies – apple, blueberry, mincemeat, and pumpkin.

What are you thankful for? What is your favorite Thanksgiving dish?

One comment on “Thanksgiving

  1. You already read my thankful post so I won’t repeat. But happy Thanksgiving! I hope you have fun cooking. I admit to not being a huge fan of the food on Thanksgiving. I don’t like cranberry or pumpkin anything. LOL That and I’m sick and can’t taste anything, so unfortunately, it will be a bland meal for me.

Leave a Reply

