Tuesday’s Top Ten!

What better way to bring in the new year than to recap my top ten accomplishments of 2012, the top ten things I learned, and my top ten goals for 2013.

Top Ten Accomplishments of 2012

1. I self-published “The Perfect Prom Date” in January.

2. My book “Nowhere” was released in June by Muse It Up Publishing.

3. I gave my website and blog a facelift to attract new followers.

4. I have written 48 posts, including this one.

5. My blog has received more than 1,500 visitors.

6. I read 14 books during the summer months.

7. I helped my dear friend, Kelly Mooney, edit her latest book, “Please Don’t Go”.

8. I conducted my first author interview to a group of students.

9. I participated and contributed in my first Indie-read-a-thon.

10. I began writing a new book, “One Complicated Summer”, which is the first book in a four book series.

Top Ten Things I Learned in 2012

1. The importance of Beta-readers (I will be sure to ask several beta-readers to read my next manuscript before I even send out any queries. Beta readers are extremely insightful).

2. I enjoy crafting “Character Bibles.” ( I made character bibles for the main characters in Nowhere and it really helped me get to know them.)

3. I have a difficult time finding my own typos and grammatical errors. (However, I enjoy editing other author’s manuscripts and I am much better at helping them than I am helping myself.)

4. There are advantages and disadvantages to self publishing.

5. There are advantages and disadvantages to publishing with a publishing house.

6. Barnes and Noble does not directly accept non-US publishing houses. They have to go through smashwords. (Hence, I have been patiently awaiting for “Nowhere” to appear on the B&N website for almost seven months.)

7. I am not a fast writer. (Which I am totally okay with.)

8. Some months I have a difficult time making time to write, while other months I can’t seem to stop.

9. I can’t read a book and work on my own at the same time. (Nor can I flip between stations when there is a commercial on.) My brain just doesn’t work that way.

10. Always take constructive criticism, constructively. I used it learn about myself as an author and how I can improve in the future. (Because of course being an author is my future!)

Top Ten Goals for 2013

1. Finish writing “One Complicated Summer.”

2. Receive a contract for “One Complicated Summer.”

3. Continue to blog two to three times a week.

4. Establish more relationships with other authors and readers. (Goodreads is a great forum for accomplishing this.)

5. Obtain more followers on my blog.

6. Spend more time with real teens, so that my writing connects to them even more than it already does.

7. Read at least as many books this summer as I did in 2012.(Nothing is more relaxing than sitting at the beach or by my pool reading a great novel).

8. Take a writing course (I took an on-line course with Anastasia Suen in 2011, and throughly benefitted it.)

9. Visit the YA book fair at Nazareth College. (A truly inspiring experience to be surrounded by fellow authors, such as Melisa de la Cruz and Simone Elkeles, and thousands of wonderful readers!)

10. Sell thousands of copies of “The Perfect Prom Date” and “Nowhere.”

What did you accomplish in 2012? What did you learn? And what are your goals for 2013?

One comment on “Tuesday’s Top Ten!

Leave a Reply

