First Friday’s Guest Author…Scott R. Caseley

I am happy to have fellow Muse YA author, Scott R. Caseley, appear on my blog. His book “Isosceles” was released in Januaray 2013. His cover and book blurb appear below followed by his answers to a set of interview questions about his writing and his life.

Isosceles 200x300-1

When he finds his best friend Trey Goodsby dead and almost completely submerged in a bathtub filled with bloody water, Sean McIntyre is determined to find out if it was an accident or suicide. If it was suicide, why did he do it? And, did his death accidental or intentional have anything to do with Madeline Edwards, the woman who came between them constantly through their thirteen-year friendship? Isosceles, a coming-of-age mystery romance begins with the death of Trey Goodsby, and explores his relationships with family, friends, his romances, and which of the circumstances he found himself in that led to the tragic event, and the repercussions for those he left behind.

scottrcaseleyauthorphoto

When and why did you begin writing?

In the fall of second grade, my class learned about creative writing and we were told that we could write short stories and have them “published”, basically it was a fabric cover on the front and back and we did the illustrations throughout and the text was handwritten. We even learned about the importance of re-writing. From my very first short story, about a sick elephant and his worried mother, I was hooked on the fun of creating imaginary situations which would blend humor with drama.

What books have most influenced your life most?

Sixth grade was a magic year for learning about novels in school. We were assigned two books in particular that have always stuck with me; Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson and The Outsiders by SE Hinton. Both struck a chord with me as they both dealt with the power of friendship when you feel let down by family, and then how family may just come around on you when tragedy strikes. I think that those two books were the best books to prepare me for crossing the threshold into the dreaded teen angst period, many if not all of us go through.
Later on, I discovered the works of Dennis Lehane and I got drawn into his Kenzie/Gennaro series immediately. He knew how to tell an interesting mystery narrative that was very character based and built up the two main protagonists, Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro. He didn’t give their traits right away, he drops in details when needed and has them grow exponentially through each tale. They go through a lot of changes over the course of the six books in the series that have been released so far. (Mr. Lehane, if you’re reading this, please write more stories with these two.) It’s inspired me on how to give characteristics of someone through someone else’s eyes particularly someone who knows you like the back of your hand, but can still find you to be mysterious.

What book are you reading now? Or what book is next on your TBR?

I’m actually reading three books at the moment; A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan, I love her use of polyphony and the characters are so rich and vivid. My friend Lorrie recommended Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, and I like a good mystery, so I’m enjoying that as well. And, lastly, I just picked up Turn of Mind which Bonnie the Book Lady recommended on The Book Club show I was a part of on “The Jordan Rich Show” on WBZ. It had a very intriguing premise, a mystery told through the perspective of a woman with Alzheimer’s.

If Hollywood made your book into a movie who would you cast as the leads?

Joel Courtney from “Super 8” would be an amazing Sean, he has the right look of caring, but deep pain. For Madeline, Sheilene Woodley who was in one of my favorite movies “The Descendants” has the beauty, intelligence and poise to portray the lynchpin of the trio. Lastly, for the enigmatic Trey, there’s only one person that comes to mind for that, Logan Lerman from “Perks of Being a Wallflower”, I saw an interview with him and he had some facial hair and he appeared like he could pull off mischievous yet tragic.

What do you do during your free-time when you’re not writing?

My two biggest non-writing passions would have to be yoga and cooking. Yoga centers me, gives me peace of mind, and enables me to have the strength and flexibility I need to do various other workouts. Cooking is an opportunity for me to be creative, entertain others, and try new dishes from around the world.

Coffee or tea?

Both actually; coffee in the morning, noon, and night, caffeine does wonders for my creativity and, tea is family tradition.

How would you describe yourself in three words?

Creative, humorous, driven

If you could choose any vehicle to drive, what would it be, and why?

No question, the flying DeLorean in “Back to the Future Part II” because I could time travel and follow my earliest dream of flying simultaneously. Wait, does simultaneous really work as a concept when time traveling?

Thank you very much for this interview, Marysue. I enjoyed this trip down memory lane that this book brought me on. It made me think of my early childhood and school experiences, which fostered my loves for writing and reading. Plus as a movie buff, I always love making casting choices for my characters. My coffee maker is beeping, so I’ve got to go!

Thank you Scott for a wonderful interview. For more information you can check out “Isosceles” at http://www.museituppublishing.com

4 comments on “First Friday’s Guest Author…Scott R. Caseley

Leave a Reply

